Matthew Park
Inglorious Bloggers
1 min readSep 15, 2015

--

Who am I?

My name is Matthew and I am a first-year transfer student at Whittier College. While I am enrolled in the Whittier Scholars Program, I still see myself as an English major who values critical thinking. In my opinion, the ability to think objectively and evaluate both sides of a topic is a crucial skill to have not only in English, but in any branch of college-level study. Critical thinking was always an ability that I valued throughout my early college career, and I hope to have continued success using it moving forward in the Whittier Scholars program.

At this point in my life, I am deeply considering a career in the field of sports broadcasting or journalism and while I don’t consider myself the most athletic guy on the planet, I’ll always have a love for sports. Growing up, I was always a supporter of the San Diego Chargers and despite the team sucking for a good portion of my life, I’ll continue to support them. However, as a potential sports broadcaster or journalist, it would be my job to voice my objective opinion on anything I’d cover; which may include my beloved Bolts. Since I am now considering a career in sports media, I feel that incorporating critical thinking both in and out of the classroom is a key aspect to finding success moving forward.

--

--