2 Key Mindset Shifts to Help You Build and Stick to a Morning Routine

Overcome the thought: “I have variable timings each day”.

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous
Published in
5 min readFeb 13, 2021

--

Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

I was never much of a believer in morning routines.

All my life, I’ve moved from home to hostel, city to city, never once settling in one place for more than a year. It was always a bit of this city, a taste of that town, a new hostel, a new roommate, and I was too overwhelmed to even claim a few minutes of the day just for myself.

This changed when I started living alone. Even now, my job required me to travel every two weeks, but I managed to build a simple three-step morning routine. Even though I find myself on a flight more days than I can count, I have managed to stick to this religiously for the past two years.

This article is about the two fundamental mindset shifts that helped me stick to my morning routine despite all the uncertainty in my life. Before we dive in, here’s why morning routines are important according to science:

  • Experts say establishing consistent daily and weekly routines is a way for people to feel there is some certainty during tough times.
  • Morning routines help you begin your day with confidence, peace, and a positive attitude.
  • It sets the tone for the…

--

--