3 Unexpected Problems That Arose in my Freelance Writing Career

And how I’m dealing with them.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
5 min readSep 5, 2022

--

Image from Anangsha’s Instagram

A year ago, I had two writing clients who paid a handsome paycheck.

This gave me the assurance to finally quit my job and do what I always wanted: write.

It’s been a year since then, and I’ve seen more incredible highs and unbelievable lows than I could have foreseen.

I’ve also learned so much that I could write an entire book filled with freelancing lessons.

But this article is not about that.

In this post, I want to discuss the three unexpected problems that arose in my freelance writing business and how I dealt with them. If you’re a writer or plan to be one soon, then read on for some valuable insights.

1. Do you ever get rid of imposter syndrome?

In September 2021, I had to submit an invoice to a client for about 20 hours of work. The amount on it was multiple 4-figures USD, almost the salary of 6 months for my previous day job.

I was so intimidated by the amount that I calculated and recalculated to make sure what my eyes were seeing was right.

I did believe my effort was worth it, but a small part of myself (the part known…

--

--