The First Step Is Always Dangerous; How I Am Fighting My Fears of Looking a FOOL NOW to WIN My Dream Life

So many dreams and ideas knock on our door every day, but the fear of looking a fool often holds us back from even trying.

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice
Published in
6 min readFeb 9, 2023

--

I am no different. I am also a fool who is afraid of looking a fool. I am calling myself a ‘fool’ because I am so good at lying to myself as if someone is listening to my excuses and I might actually win an Oscar for it.

I have so many ideas that I want to execute. I have so many dreams that I want to live in reality not just daydream about. But the fear of losing keeps me under my blanket. If I don’t try, I wouldn’t fail. If I don’t fail, I wouldn’t feel bad. Simple.

But then something doesn’t feel right. Something kills me inside. Like I can sense the killer of my dreams with every breath. I cannot love myself completely knowing that I deserve more but am restricting my own growth.

I feel suffocated every now and then. So, I am writing this article to share with you how I am fighting my fear of looking foolish and how I sometimes feel trapped.

1. A Dream of Mine & The Noise:

--

--

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice

I talk about slow & Intentional living - taking you closer to a happy life. I am a published author of the book 'The Art of Being Alone': https://a.co/d/531JIFq