Here’s Why You Should Not Stick to One Genre While Reading

Broaden your perspective

Anangsha Alammyan
Literature Lust
Published in
5 min readAug 23, 2020

--

Photo by cottonbro on Pexels

Some readers only prefer non-fiction. Others swear by fiction and stick to particular sub-genres. For example, I have a friend who only reads young adult fantasy and another who swears by science fiction.

I like to mix and match my tastes while reading. And so far, it has served me well. I’ve been a reader since early childhood and have read more than 750 books till now. Granted, my tastes lean more towards fiction, but of late, I have started incorporating non-fiction in general and self-help in particular in my life.

I feel that reading books of different genres adds to the reading experience and broadens your perspective. The only thing to keep in mind is, to be honest; to not look for books that are popular or widely-recommended but pick up books close to your heart.

“In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you.”

— Mortimer J. Adler

This article about how reading books of different genres helped me become a better version of myself, and how I believe this will change you too.

--

--