Poetry

Black Sheep Of The Family

A girl’s lament at the love-hate relationship she shares with her brother

Anangsha Alammyan
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 31, 2020

--

My very first memories of my brother
are those of me wondering how life would be different
if he was never born.

Would my parents think I am smart enough
when they would have no one else to compare my grades with?
Would I feel that my birthday presents were good enough
if he did not receive better presents year after year?
Would my achievements deserve praise
without him setting a standard for how much I should achieve
before I can be celebrated the way he always was?

Without my brother being the role-model,
would I be free to take my own path?
Would choosing a career in anything but engineering be an option?
And would my parents actually be proud of me,
rather than treating me like I let them down,
no matter how hard I tried to be good enough?

I was twelve when I first heard “Seasons In The Sun” by Westlife,
fifteen when I knew it was a…

--

--