The Perils of Hiring Freelancers: A Business Owner’s Perspective

I started my career as a freelancer. Today, I hesitate to hire freelancers for my business. Here’s why.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readDec 7, 2022

--

Image by drobotdean on Freepik

I’m a business owner who started out as a freelancer about 1.5 years ago.

I have a unique perspective on the challenges and pitfalls of hiring freelancers.

In my current role, I work with freelancers on a regular basis, and I have noticed some common mistakes that many freelancers make.

In this article, I’ll share my insights and offer some tips on how to avoid these mistakes that will improve your chances of success.

Whether you are a seasoned professional or just starting out in the world of freelancing, it’s important to be aware of the common pitfalls and mistakes that can damage your reputation and hinder your success.

1. Missed deadlines

Many freelancers I’ve worked with fail to inform me when they cannot meet a deadline, leaving me scrambling to find a replacement at the last minute.

This causes unnecessary stress and inconvenience and negatively impacts my business.

--

--