If You’re Terrified Of Asking For A Pay Raise, Read This

Turns out, asking for a raise is easier than most people realize.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
9 min readSep 27, 2021

--

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

In my college days, I did a writing internship to help my family financially. I wrote emails for a company that generated $2000+ per month in revenue. They paid me only $150 a month.

Although I was happy that my skill was bringing in monetary returns, I wasn’t quite satisfied with my salary. My boss used to appreciate me a lot, but he kept giving me more tasks while keeping the payment fixed. Any extra work meant I needed to extend my work hours for no extra money.

I had no time left for my hobbies or to take up other gigs to increase my income. I couldn’t even take out time for reading a book or upskilling myself.

It felt like the only option was to leave the job. But I didn’t want to do it as I really loved the networking opportunities it brought. The only issue was the money.

I felt trapped.

One day when I was home, my father asked me why I looked so frustrated. I told him about this whole work-money trap I was in, and nearly all the negatives I could think of about the company and how they are ruining my career.

--

--