My Education, As Taught by Tyler Oakley

Aubrey Bang-Guerin
Inglorious Bloggers
2 min readOct 19, 2015
newamericamedia.org

When presented the opportunity to decide exactly what you want to learn and how, a student doesn’t easily know the answer. In a society so based off of structure and strategic learning, students don’t often get a say in the how and what of their own education.

But for some odd, beautiful reason I am allowed the privilege to do just that.

So what do I want to learn?

It’s kind of a complicated answer. I’m highly interested (more like infatuated) with social media. Although I’ve never looked at my interest as other than a past-time or a delusion of self-indulgence, I’m now realising the bigger picture. Social Media is a corporation that influences it’s consumers so much, that it becomes a part of their regular schedule. An example of social media based businesses’ influence is Tyler Oakley.

twistmagazine.com

Tyler Oakley is a Youtuber with just under 8 million subscribers, 4.7 million twitter followers, and 5.2 million instagram followers. On Tyler’s 26th birthday he asked his fans to give his gift in the form of a donation to “The Trevor Project”. The goal was to raise $500,000, and in just one day they raised more than $525,000.

Just by asking, he received. That power is indescribable.

I’m fascinated by social media and it’s personas’ affect on it’s consumers not just from an anthropologist’s perspective, but as an avid user and almost business owner perspective. If you don’t already know, I’m a Youtuber. And as a person who’s sanity and content output lies in the hands of my viewers, I need to ask:

“What makes something worth watching?”

--

--