I No Longer Struggle To Earn $$$$ Online After Making These Changes

What you need to know about monetizing your online writing skills.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJul 27, 2024

--

Image from the author’s Instagram

“I’ll never make money from my writing. It’s just a hobby. I do it because I love it.”

This is what I told myself all my life before 2020.

Making money as a writer was a mystery I couldn’t solve no matter how hard I tried. I wrote for online short story competitions, I took up freelance clients, I participated in shady anthologies — all in the hopes of making my first dollar.

I did succeed, but the ROI was so bad, there was no motivation for me to continue. I’d spend hours writing an article or a story, and I’d make peanuts from it.

This all changed during the pandemic, when, for the first time in my life, I had time to devote to my craft. Working from home freed up hours in my day I didn’t believe was possible. I dedicated those hours to understanding how the online writing game works.

In those days, I made a goal of making $50 every month from writing online. Within a year, I was making more than $1500 a month from online writing, and I’d just started.

So what changed?

--

--