the day the world was supposed to end — Chapter 8

Joel Mendez
4 min readMay 22, 2016

--

The world was prepared for their certain death. The asteroid never hit and they survived. Now citizens try to rebuild a disordered world caused by panic and desperation of an end that never came. Everyone wants to know how the asteroid missed them. In a world controlled by local legions and militias and with communications systems destroyed survival can prove as difficult as to answers on why they survived.

A new chapter is released every Sunday afternoon/evening. Below is a link to the last chapter:

Albert got up from his bar stool and approached Gerald. He pulled up a chair next to him. In the flesh was Albert, the mysterious “A.W” of the Oak Ridge Laboratory. The man who was part of trying to save the world and provided him and the members of the Legion access to the room with the resources and booze.

For the first time in months Gerald was looking forward to a conversation. He had many questions. Where to start?

“I went to that game.” Albert’s eyes moved to the television screen replaying the 1998 Tennessee Volunteer Championship game. The game had ended and the coach of the Volunteers, Phillip Fulmer had been bathed in Gatorade and made his way to the center of the field with students, fans and media converging. “Rick, who was one of the men you found dead in the lab was an alum and taught there was able to get tickets.” His eyes stayed glued to the television, reliving the moment.

“There is an office in the back of the lab where they died. There is a picture of Rick and I with the stupid mascot after the game.” “But I am sure your not interested in Tennessee Volunteer football. You want to know what happened and why we couldn’t find a solution?”

“Not my first question, but my second” Gerald responded. Albert scratched his head. “Really?” “So what is your first?”

“Why didn’t you also commit suicide in the lab with your colleagues and I guess friends? Are you the only one left from the lab?” Albert took the Gerald’s drink, barely touched and filled with the familiar vodka he loathed. He took a chug of the vodka, drinking half of it. “They say there are no atheists in fox holes, well in research labs where the finest scientist fail to save the world, there are no believers.” Albert sipped on his drink getting comfortable with the vodka.

“The moment we all came to the conclusion we didn’t have enough time, we decided to control the only part of this mess, we could control. They way we left the world.” Albert laughed in disbelief. “Since the day the asteroid missed earth there has not been a moment I regret that decision.

“But you are still alive?” Gerald asked. “Two reasons. First, I drew the short straw in preparing the lab for the release of toxic gasses and second fear. Rick asked me to make sure everyone was dead prior to turning the poison gas on myself. I was fine with the plan. I had a suit and mask, witnessed our colleagues embrace, find their favorite spot and die. It wasn’t until after I checked Rick’s pulse that fear crept in. I was alone with the dead bodies of eight colleagues, who became close friends during the last year. They were family.”

Sam, the bartender returned with the smell of fresh nicotine from his break. “Al, you buy a man a drink only to drink it yourself. Your the type of a friend I prefer as an enemy.” “Sam, the man didn’t like how the drink was served. The post asteroid world has lost service to the customer” Albert shot back with a mischievous grin. Sam showed Albert his middle finger and headed to the kitchen.

“I am no believer or a religious folk, I just didn’t want to die. Even in a world that had nothing to offer, I was still holding on to my life” Albert spoke while he looked at the empty glass of vodka. “Well the least I could do, is put a warning sign and let others know where to find resources. Oak Lab would be abandoned and after our failure, Washington and the feds had no use for us. I left the front gate and made my way to this palace” He opened his arms wide with the mischievous grin returning. Gerald realized Albert was drunk. A little drunk, but still drunk.

“And the second question?, Gerald asked trying to change a subject that conjured memories of his past and of his Becks. “Oh, what caused the asteroid? We don’t know. We mainly wrestled in how to stop the asteroid from hitting the earth. There was no rocket or missile or anything that could deter the asteroid. In fact, our fear was getting a rocket absorbed by the asteroid and giving the it more strength to land quicker.”

“So you have been hiding here since then” Gerald probed.

“No, I am part of the Knoxville Legion. They are sending me out to help find out why the asteroid missed us and where is our government at the time. I am waiting for my ride.

Ed busted through the door, still chewing a wad tobacco in his cheek. He had a satchel filled with documents. Albert and Gerald could only stare at Ed.

Albert broke the silence, lifting his glass up in the air, “My ride’s here.”

--

--