Weather app for hipsters

Redesigning weather app

Peter Fabor
2 min readJul 15, 2014

The chance you have met a mobile designer who has never tried to redesign a weather app is almost zero. When you visit a website like Dribbble you can find tons of amazing design concepts.

I live in the Canary Islands and the weather app is not very handy here, the weather is same all year around, but I use it during my travels. Native iOS weather app and Yahoo! Weather are installed on my phone.

Both are great and simple, they show the temperature and the icon of the sun/clouds.

But I use weather apps?

There are many reasons to use it, I organise BBQ during the weekend or I want to go hiking with my friends. But mostly because I want to know what to wear.

OK, now imagine I want to know what to wear this morning. I open the app where I can see the icon of clouds and the temperature 25 degrees. Hmmmm. When I know the current place, I start a quick “calculation” in my mind and then I assume what to wear.

But… what if I don’t want to think about it? What if I just want to see what I should wear today or tomorrow? So I tried to design this idea.

You can buy this nice hoodie in Threadless.

(Wueeeey, the first weather app with a business model!)

I know, everyone has a different temperature perception and a different dress style. However, this is an interesting problem to resolve!

And, it might inspire someone to actually build it ;-)

Do you want to apply similar out of box design ideas to your app?
Apply The Tech Beach and 4 designers (including me) will redesign your app in 31 days.

--

--

Peter Fabor

Founder of @surfoffice, organiser of productive team retreats. Prev: lead designer at @avast_antivirus. I'm @faborio on Twitter.