Here’s What Happened When I Skipped Yoga For a Month

My most unproductive month as a fitness trainer.

Khyati Jain
In Fitness And In Health

--

A women peeking through a sheet.
Photo by Victoria Borodinova from Pexels

Taking a break from working out is difficult when you follow a regular practice. But sometimes it is necessary to take a break to let your body rest.

I had a series of injuries that lead to this decision on taking a short break from all high and moderate-intensity workouts. Fitness last month was all about walks.

But giving up exercise lead to a series of mental and physical disadvantages that I did not anticipate. Here is what happened when I didn’t workout for a month.

I lost my flexibility

I am a five-foot Asian girl. Flexibility has always been my forte. I was one of the most flexible students in my yoga class. And with consistent practice, I improved rapidly.

I could put both my legs behind my head and neck easily. Splits were my absolute favorite things.

Now the same splits drill makes me cry. Yes, I literally had tears in my eyes when I practiced yesterday. My hips are tighter than ever before. A basic low lunge was a challenge.

The flexibility I gained after practicing for more than 2 years is disappearing at a rapid rate. Hip cramps are prevalent, it is as if my body has…

--

--

Khyati Jain
In Fitness And In Health

10x Top Writer| Certified Yoga Trainer| I write about health, fitness, lifestyle, and more. Open to writing gigs. Contact:- khyatijainwrites01@gmail.com