How I gained 2.5k% Twitter impressions in a weekend

John Leonard De Guzman
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readMar 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I are running a blog called StylebyFourFifteen. It’s a his + hers fashion and lifestyle blog where we document what we do and where we get our inspiration from. I’m personally not fashionable as she is but I love the game of moving the needle and increasing our number of followers whether it be our page views, our twitter followers or our instagram engagement. I’ve been following Gary Vaynerchuk for quite some time and when the #AskGaryVee book came out, I knew that I can test all his tactics out on our blog and our followers. Last weekend I had some free time and decided to pour it on twitter and test his ideas and I’ve got to say, it works! So here’s some summary of what I did and how I gained 2.5k% more twitter impressions and 1k% more profile visits:

Hashtags!

#HASHTAG IT!

As a fashion and lifestyle blogger, we mostly use the hashtags #fashionblogger and #ootd on most of our tweets. We searched for the hashtags and created conversations with everyone in that stream. Whether they had 100k followers or 10 followers, getting them involved and really talking to them was a guaranteed like, retweet, reply or follow. Find hashtags where people are constantly engaged in. #hustle and #socialmedia are two of these where we would get constant engagement from and consistent followers on a daily basis.

Use Gifs and Emojis

Texts are boring. Emojis are cool. But gifs are a whole other ball game. Twitter made a great move in integrating gifs in their tweets (finally!). We use gifs in our tweets all the time, it adds a little more oomph and provide more emotion into the tweet. This gets people more engaged and feel lighthearted.

Be Authentic

People don’t like it when you’re robotic or just going for a sale. In Gary Vee’s terms, you gotta jab before being entitled to that right hook. You have to be authentic to your community and to your followers. Talk about their day, do a bit of research on their blog or things they like and tweet about something personal. They’ll appreciate that even more than “Follow us and look at this blog”.

The numbers that I have are small but seeing this much growth over doing the things that are in the #AskGaryVee book in a weekend is crazy! Really excited to finish reading and listening to the book and learn more on how to win in social media!

I know you liked this so click that green heart and recommend it to your friends so I can give you a nice big smooch :)

Follow me and everything that I’m doing at:
http://twitter.com/madfresco
https://twitter.com/styleby415
http://instagram.com/stylebyfourfifteen

--

--

John Leonard De Guzman
ART + marketing

I develop stories in products and Medium made me an aspiring writer.