A Prologue | Reflection | It Happened To Me

An Interesting Podcast Interview Of Up & Coming Author

DJO interviews the contemporary romance writer Scarlet Ibis James. Her story and journey to this moment are revealed.

Scarlet Ibis James 🦩
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readMar 1, 2024

--

a hibiscus plant and flower growing out through a jagged crack in the city pavement. A hummingbird is near.
The author created this image with Midjourney. S.I. James owns copyright and provenance, per Midjourney ToS. Hibiscus is my favorite flower. There was a plant in the front yard of my childhood home. After the podcast, Scsrlet said, “I shot out through family fractures.”

D̶J̶O̶: Hi, everyone; welcome to the podcast with DJo. Today, we have a writer in the studio that I wanted to introduce to you. Her name is Scarlet Ibis James, and she’s been writing short stories on Medium and Substack.

Hello, Scarlet, how are you doing today?

🦩 𝒮𝒸𝒶𝓇𝓁ℯ𝓉: I am so excited to be here.

D̶J̶O̶: Okay, can you introduce yourself to those who do not know about your work?

🦩 𝒮𝒸𝒶𝓇𝓁ℯ𝓉: Sure.

I have been writing short stories since July 2023. They have been my creative outlet. They let me explore unique characters and stories. These fictional short stories are quick and digestible reads. I also love capturing the rawness and genuineness of everyday situations. I focus on contemporary relationships.

I’m stitching those short stories into a book. I am preparing to write my novel. I am working with Toni The Talker and a group of talented Medium writers. We are envisioning the next decade of my

--

--