If you aren’t cheating on your finals, you aren’t trying.

Go Illini!

JC
3 min readMay 10, 2014

Hi X and Professor Y,

I hope you are doing well.

Although I have two difficult finals on Monday (CS and Multivariable Calc), I’m taking the time to write this email to you because I feel morally obligated to.

The final on Friday for Class Z went reasonably well; however, I was agitated the entire time because the two kids sitting next to me were cheating. Blatantly. I surreptitiously reported this to A (the proctor) by pretending to ask him a question, and he watched the two and moved the one sitting immediately next to me to the front.

However, I do not feel that this was the right decision.

I had been trying to get A attention for a while, and only after the blatant cheating became so disruptive did I actually get up and walk to the front to tell him. The behavior had been going on for a while already and I felt it was simply ridiculous that the proctors did not catch them.

By the time A moved him to the front, he’d already copied most of the MC answers from his friend next to him, accomplishing most of his goals and getting not even a slap on the wrist.

I respectfully submit a proposal for a more severe punishment.

My rationale is that by showing an almost apathetic attitude to cheating, the message delivered to these cheaters is “don’t get caught, but if you do, it won’t matter anyway,” which is an outrageously harmful message to all parties. Their casual, careless, blatant attitude with regards to this cheating signaled to me that they were used to it; indeed, it is not a stretch to believe that they’ve done this before, and will probably do it again, seeing as how their behavior was reinforced by this tickle on the wrist.

My classmates and I hauled ass in the class to study and earn a legitimate grade, but students that lack the same moral standards can achieve a decent grade without putting in the effort and sacrifice. What message does that send to us?

If these cheaters continue their behavior, and are met with the same unreasonable apathy, they can skate by college without being of the same caliber as the students who legitimately earned their degree. When they seek their place in the workforce after, their poor standards will bring down the value of a degree from the University of Illinois for everybody. I, and others, have vested moral, financial, and educational interests to push for justice in this case.

I cannot deny that a small part of this email is out of a (for lack of a better word) vindictive desire. But this motivation is driven by the same anger that stems from my moral outrage. It’s not just to let such behavior go, when it says on the very front page of the booklet that “Giving or receiving aid on this examination is cause for dismissal from the University.” That message was crafted to be intimidating. But the threat behind it is empty if no action is taken at the witnessing of such a scandal.

And I do understand that it feels bad to be the executor of a decision that hurts a student. But fairness is hard, and justice demands rationality. Action is tied to pain, but so is inaction. We all get hurt if no action is taken. The course of inaction is far more disgusting than the necessary and proper course of action, but it’s tempting because the burden of action falls on nobody. But in being an instructor for this class, you signed up for delivering the consequences of exactly this type of behavior.

I hope my arguments in this email were understandable and clear. Please do not hesitate to email me for any clarification.

Thanks,

Johnny

Update: Professor responded. Action will be taken. Go Illini

P.S. — If you felt anything while reading, please Recommend this article below.

Follow me on Twitter @jychang3

Thanks for reading.

Unlisted

--

--