3 Skills (Aside From Writing) to Succeed As A Writer

Success as a writer demands more than just good writing.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMay 24, 2023

--

Photo by Timothy Muza on Unsplash

I’d always dreamed of being a writer.

Even though I gave ten years of my life to civil engineering, I knew one day I’d turn my passion into my profession.

When I made the career switch in 2021, I was prepared for some new experiences.

3 years later, I couldn’t have been more grateful for the freedom and opportunities writing has opened up for me.

Here’s a glimpse at what my life looks like as a full-time writer —

  • I work for 1–2 hours each day, 5 days a week. The rest of the time is free for me to pursue my hobbies and interests.
  • I can afford to take holidays whenever and wherever I wish. I recently booked tickets for my first 12-day international solo trip, and I couldn’t have been more excited.
  • I get to work with amazing clients who run companies that are truly making a difference in the world. As a content strategist, I get to make decisions that shape the future of the product. You can’t imagine how empowering having that kind of say on a startup’s trajectory can feel.

If this is something you aspire for yourself, I’ve compiled the three skills aside from…

--

--