Everything You Need to Know About the OnePlus One

Bryan Collom
Adventures With Android
3 min readNov 21, 2014

--

This is a handy dandy list of the immense work I've done with the OnePlus One. It is a device that is easily my favorite of 2014. Many of these words have been featured by The Tech Block, and one has been featured by OnePlus themselves. I put this all together in a post mainly for me. But if you need a starting point with the OnePlus One. This is where it should be.

Early Thoughts

I bought the OnePlus One for one reason, to review. I figured the phone would be pretty good. But I was happy with my Nexus 5, why upgrade? Here are my initial and early thoughts of the OnePlus One.

The Review Trilogy

The OnePlus One was such a polarizing device, it was impossible to write a single piece that could adequately capture everything about the device. Here is where the Review Trilogy was born. One piece dedicated to each of the major facets of a device. Hardware, Software, Camera.

Features

When I finished the OnePlus One Review Trilogy, I knew there was still so much that I wanted to say. This is where the Three Months In, Six Months In, and other features come into play.

Three Months In

My Three Months In piece gives me a much clearer picture of living with the OnePlus One as my daily driver. I allow myself one month to review a device. But I always find new great features or terrible bugs after a review has ended. This gets you caught up on where I stand after some time has passed.

Top Five: Features

My Top Five: Features consist of the top five features for Hardware, Software, and Camera(just like what I reviewed!). They’re short and sweet and give you a bite sized insight into the great things about the phone.

Photography With the OnePlus One

I took the phone with me when I went camping as a backup camera to my DSLR. Below I posted pictures of that trip, as well as many others to showcase how great this camera can be.

Compared: OnePlus One vs Nexus 6

The OnePlus One was easily the most polarizing device of 2014. At the tail end of 2014, the Nexus 6 came crashing down. Two flagship level phones that have captivated many Android enthusiasts. The only question you need to ask: Which one is better?

Six Months In: OnePlus One

Six months later, has the OnePlus One fallen flat? I take another look into the phone that claims to “Never Settle”

OxygenOS

Seeing as OnePlus and Cyanogen have had recent drama. OnePlus has gone ahead with the development of their own in-house ROM, dubbed OxygenOS. Here are the initial questions and thoughts regarding the next chapter for OnePlus

OxygenOS Review

Here I take a practical look into OxygenOS. I discuss what’s missing, what’s different, and if it is even any good.

Remember to follow me on Twitter & Google+ for all of my Tech Reviews, Features, and more!

And I’m on Instagram! I post tech, coffee, and my photography there. If that’s your gig, hit that follow button there, too!

--

--

Bryan Collom
Adventures With Android

Technology. Photography. Coffee. Did I mention technology?