30 Lessons From Reaching 30,000 Followers on Medium

Behind the scenes of a journey of 20 months that led me here.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
3 min readDec 29, 2021

--

Image from author’s Instagram.

I started writing actively on Medium in May 2020. In December 2021, I crossed 30,000 followers.

The past 20 months have been a roller coaster ride. I got my first freelance client here, bagged some kickass brand collaborations, and got enough confidence to quit my job to pursue my passion of being a full-time writer.

In this post, I’ve listed the 30 most important lessons that I learned on my journey until now. If you consider Medium as a platform to build your portfolio as a writer and earn some money, read on for some valuable insights. Don’t forget to let me know your thoughts in the comments.

  1. It takes you way longer to reach the level of success you envisioned than what you assume.
  2. Consistency beats talent any day.
  3. Reading (and learning from) the work of top writers goes a long way in making you a better writer.
  4. Publishing in publications matters more than you think.
  5. Some stories are meant to be self-published. You’ll learn which ones work better in publications as you keep publishing and analyzing your stats.
  6. Leveraging external views is hard, but…

--

--