7 Tips to Effectively Listen to Audiobooks

Read more in less time.

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous
Published in
9 min readJun 21, 2020

--

I had always believed I would never have the attention span long enough to sit through an audiobook. I thought I would get distracted and lose track of the story; that audiobooks weren’t my thing.

This changed in 2019 when I gifted myself a Storytel subscription for my birthday. This was more like a knee-jerk reaction because I was on a self-imposed clothes-buying-ban and I already had a lot of unread paperbacks on my bookshelf. I didn’t know what else I could get for myself that would add value to my life, and hence, the subscription.

Fast forward to now: I am a huge fan of listening to audiobooks. I have one constantly running in my phone’s background — ready to be played at the slightest chance I get. I have listened to more than 30 audiobooks in the past year, and some of them have been genuinely life-changing.

If you are someone who believes audiobooks aren’t their thing, this article might change your mind. But, before we begin, here is a quick summary of how audiobooks changed my perspective towards reading-

  • The voice modulation and inflexions of a professional narrator make the author’s words come alive. It feels like you are watching a movie unfold in your mind’s eye.
  • You can differentiate the…

--

--