Reddit’s Top 8 Life-Advice for People in Their 20s

What posts with thousands of upvotes had in common

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous
Published in
7 min readJul 19, 2021

--

Photo by Alec Favale on Unsplash

I’m about to turn 21 and this is a weird age to be at.

While I’ve graduated, one of my friends is just a year into med school, another’s building a startup, and yet another recently got married. Did I mention the one that’s contemplating joining a monastery?

With 21 itself encompassing such a large gamut, the 20s is an entire universe.

And it isn’t easy to navigate. So, I did what any rookie Astronaut would do — turning to the veterans a.k.a people in their 30s and 40s.

And what better place to look for advice than Reddit? While a blog post or video is just one person spouting advice, forums like Reddit give you access to hundreds.

I dove in, expecting to see myriad different life lessons, but imagine my surprise to see the same few lessons rehashed. Here are the 8 top ones.

Just Ask

Be it the person who gets your heart beating like a drum or the pay raise you believe you deserve, things you desire won’t come flitting into your lap by themselves. You need to ask. Don’t let the fear of rejection hold you back.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com