Converting an “Office Hours” Into A $1500 Job Interview

The story of how I landed my first freelance client.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2023

--

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

There was one reason that tipped the scales and convinced me to quit my job to pursue writing full-time.

My first freelance client.

I signed the deal in December 2020. It was a year-long contract for $1500 for 20 hours of work each week.

I loved the kind of articles the client required me to write. The topic was challenging, and seeing my articles rank on Google was sweet validation that pushed me to learn more and work harder.

But this article is not about that.

This article is about how I converted an office hours call into a job interview.

The background work that goes in to create “magic”

In October 2020, I signed up for weekly office hours with a coach I deeply admired.

It was only $5 a month, and every week, I got to be on a call with the coach and a bunch of people worldwide who joined. We spent the next 30 minutes addressing one question from each member, and brainstorming solutions together.

In one such call, I mentioned that I want to quit my job, but am unable to build a steady income stream.

--

--