How Yoga Helped Me Improve My Maladaptive Daydreaming

This poisonous habit almost ruined my life.

Khyati Jain
Age of Awareness

--

A women gazing at nothing.
Photo by Aramudi on Unsplash

I was the loner kid, who always had her nose in a book. Like most teenagers, I adored fiction, fantasy, and supernatural genres.

The characters from books became a part of my life, even when I was done reading the books. Like fantasizing about killing Cersei with a long-ass sword, or being best buds with Tyrion.

I was a gigantic Edward Cullen fan who thought it was so cool that he glittered in the sunshine. It's cringy how much I used to love the twilight saga. And yes, I have read all the books.

But these fantasies soon became my whole world. Conjuring up scenarios with imaginary people became my favorite hobby. I would spend hours locked up in my room dreaming of a reality in which I was a warrior princess or a dragon slayer. It was fun and exciting like every other addiction.

What Is Maladaptive Daydreaming(MD)

Maladaptive daydreaming is a psychiatric condition in which a person daydreams so compulsively that it distracts him from his real life. It was coined in 2002 by professor Eli Somer.

Since then there has not been proper research on this condition as it is not classified as a mental illness. But as…

--

--

Khyati Jain
Age of Awareness

10x Top Writer| Certified Yoga Trainer| I write about health, fitness, lifestyle, and more. Open to writing gigs. Contact:- khyatijainwrites01@gmail.com