Summary of my year

Looking back on 2013

Daniel J. Mierzwinski
3 min readDec 31, 2013

Inspired by some of my very good friends, I decided to summarize 2013 and let you know how my year has been.

Goodbye Vamos. Goodbye Berlin!
Starting off on a sad note, I had to say goodbye to both Berlin and my friends at Vamos. I spent seven months exploring UX while continuing to improve my skills in web development. Berlin was an amazing experience but most importantly staying at Vamos ignited my passion for start-up’s which turned out to be the theme of the year.

Unwillingly a free bird.
Going back to Copenhagen I started freelancing and even though it wasn’t entirely my decision, I must say it was a good one. I met so many great people and was able to catch up with the ones I hadn’t seen for long time.

I want to thank everyone that crossed my path throughout 2013, from the very short encounters: Lessonlane, Pinstriped, Founders and Tattoodo to the longer lasting ones: Stagis, Umwelt, E-Types, Bacon de Czar and DDB.

Chasing start-up’s in Copenhagen.
After Berlin I knew exactly where I wanted to be and started chasing start-up’s in Copenhagen. After a couple of unsuccessful attempts of trying to locate the pulse of the Danish start-up scene I met some great guys hosting a meet-up which really kickstarted things. One thing led to another and I now have a desk surrounded by inspiring people and start-ups at Rocket Labs on Nørrebro.

Hacking my way through life.
“Hackathons” will probably account for the experiences that made me push myself the hardest and equally fulfilled me the most. I supported Vamos in running one in Berlin and won “The Rookie Prize” together with my good friend Kimmy at the Evernote Berlin Hackathon. I also participated in some of the more geeky ones and had a fantastic experience at Startup Weekend Borgen with the fantastic team behind Passioneur. Last but not least I met Junglebird in Dublin and hacked for a good cause.

IDEAID 2014.
Since the middle of November I’ve been part of organizing a non-profit hackathon for a good cause. It’s our gift back to the community and something I’m really excited about. It will take place in the last weekend of February and we’ve already received great support from sponsors, jury members and volunteers. You can follow the project and read a bit more here and here.

An eventful year.
I turned 25 and speaking optimistically I’ve now passed 1/4 of my life. I traveled to 7 different countries, attended TEDx for the first time and experienced Elon Musk at Web Summit in Dublin. I graduated Hyper Island and will have to make it on my own now. I got engaged to my lovely fiancée Laura and will (hopefully) be a married man by the end of the summer.

One last thing.
I started this year by downloading an app called “1 Second Everyday” (I highly recommend you to do so as well) and started recording snippets of my life, every day. I thought it’d include it to round things up.

If you’ve been part of my journey, chances are you might find yourself in the video somewhere. Enjoy it and have a great coming year full of exciting experiences. ☺

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGxrjpI5X-s

I wish you a
Happy New Year

--

--