Monday Morning Medium #17

By Zachary Forget

Zachary Forget
4 min readApr 9, 2018
pixabay.com

This week I REALLY enjoyed the stories I found.

Incredible ideas on how to remain creative and actually USE your creativity. How to network, how to be more effective when using your phone.

This week has a little bit for everyone, let’s jump in!

The 7 Habits Of Highly Creative People

Louis Chew

This is a brilliant article by Louis about what Creatives do. And it. is. practical.

There are so many great observations here. A quote that really stuck out to me, by Chuck Close, sums up the post:

“Inspiration is for amateurs — the rest of us just show up and get to work. And the belief that things will grow out of the activity itself and that you will — through work — bump into other possibilities and kick open other doors that you would never have dreamt of if you were just sitting around looking for a great art [idea].[…]If you hang in there, you will get somewhere.”

Some of the advice has been said before on different blogs, but Louis masterfully encourages each of us to not make excuses, but find ways to succeed in our endeavors.

This is Why You Should Hold Fast to Childish Things

John P. Weiss

If I were to stop going to the movie theater with my wife, if I were to stop playing board games with friends, it would be the “responsible thing to do.”

But it would be my ruin. By trying to be “a grown up,” I would end up failing my daughter. She doesn’t need me to be “Lord Businessman” (shout out to the Lego Movie!), she just needs me to have fun with her and love her.

By holding fast to the childish things, we better remember how to love like children, see like children, create like children.

5 Quick Tips To Help You Network Better Online

Tom Kuegler

Tom is the man! I really appreciate how he writes.

Every time I read something of his, it is DRIPPING with added value. This post is no exception!

What really stood out to me is point #2, make a Rolodex. I had heard about doing something similar in a podcast (I think it was Ramit Sethi, on Tim Ferriss’ podcast.) I really want to do that now, I think it’s an amazing idea!

Don’t be afraid of meeting new people. It can be intimidating, but using these 5 tips, and just getting over your fear, will lead to amazing results!

14 Ideas to Be Micro-Productive On Your Phone Rather Than Go on Social Media

Dave Schools

I know I’m not supposed to love any of these posts more than others…

But I love this one the most.

Let me show you point number one:

Call someone and ask only one question. You might have 5–10 minutes. Think of a friend. Think of one question (use this app for good questions). Call them and say, “Hey, I only have a few minutes but I was thinking about you and I was curious about how you … etc.”

That just blew my mind.

You might be a great friend and all around pretty neat human being… But I’m not.

I am a mess.

I suck at keeping in contact. This just blew my mind.

And there are thirteen more ideas on that list, read them!

How to Write a Blog Post Someone Will Pay You For: Five Steps to “Making It” as a Writer

Joseph Anderson

I still think of myself as an artist silently, even though I’ve sold my soul.

I love that quote. I don’t think Joseph ACTUALLY thinks he’s sold his soul to make money, but there exists a mindset that is necessary if we want to achieve financial success.

The mindset is… It’s not about me.

If I’m providing a service for which I hope to get paid, I need to make sure that I am giving a quality product (in this case my writing,) to my clients!

Thank you for your perspective Joseph, and thank you for “selling out.”

Did you enjoy reading this?

I bet you wish your article was in this post, huh?

If you sign up below, not only will you make sure you never miss my Monday Morning Medium posts, it also will make you eligible to submit your own stories to be featured on my next post!

Pretty sweet, right? Just put your email info in the signup form below. That’s it!

--

--

Zachary Forget

CNN Contributor. Live in Mexico. Still learning. Trying to understand life through writing. Sign up for my Curated Medium Newsletter: upscri.be/c36497/