Why You Should Build a Quiet Mind For Yourself

A mind that doesn't act like your enemy = lifetime luxury.

Renuka Gavrani
Change Your Mind Change Your Life
8 min readJul 3, 2024

--

Photo by Mahmut Aysan on Unsplash

When I was in college, I used to think that if I could achieve this, have that, buy from this brand, or travel to that country, I would be so happy.

Growing up in an environment where I was told time and again that I was dumb, I had a desire, a burning desire if I may say, to prove my worth. To show the world that I am so much more than what they used to say about me.

I spent my entire school and college life in a fight against my own mind. Even on days when I decided to go out with my friends or take life easy, the fear would crawl back, leaving its imprint on my brain, and whispering in my ears, ‘But you have to study harder. But you are not smart enough to do this. But what if after college, you have no good job and no passion to follow, what will you do then?’

I was not only afraid but desperate. I used to jump on every opportunity, every chance — not with love but with fear knowing if I don’t do more than other people, I will not be able to become successful and I don’t want to admit that I was stupid after all.

However, why am I telling you this?

In fact, if you have been reading my articles for a while now, you already know about my…

--

--

Renuka Gavrani
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

I talk about slow & Intentional living - taking you closer to a happy life. I am a published author of the book 'The Art of Being Alone': https://a.co/d/531JIFq