I’ve Never Had A *Viral* Article, But I’m A Succesful Writer

Virality is just a vanity metric. It doesn’t assure more money.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
5 min readNov 22, 2021

--

Image from author’s Instagram

As a writer, I’ve tasted success in different forms over the years.

I’ve written bestselling books, attracted high-paying gigs, grown my follower count to over 120,000 across various platforms, and the consistency of my growth gave me enough courage to quit my government job.

All these years, I’ve never had a viral article.

By viral, I mean an article gaining 1Mn+ views or earning $1000+ on any writing platform.

You might think I’m losing out on a golden treasure that can fast forward my success and turn me into the holy queen of writing whom millions would follow. But life doesn’t work that way. Virality is a myth many writers believe, which I aim to burst in this article.

Actually, It would’ve taken me a long time to achieve what I have today if I did have a viral article. I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but by the time you complete reading this post, you’ll know why virality is meaningless for you as a writer.

1. Virality Doesn’t Guarantee Success

In 2021, Medium introduced some algorithm changes that dropped the potential…

--

--