Deploy Your Google Cloud Functions The Right Way (Step-by-Step Guide)

Covering GitHub versioning, CI/CD pipeline development and scheduling jobs within Google Cloud Platform.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

Currently job searching? Give yourself an edge by developing a personal project using my free 5-page project ideation guide.

Three years ago (at the time of publication), I deployed my first cloud function two hours before the end of a Friday work day. As if that wasn’t cutting it close enough, it was also the weekend before my wedding. The function was simple enough; it made two requests and loaded two reports into our data warehouse in BigQuery. The trickiest part is that it required a nested schema. Also, I had never followed all of these deployment steps before, only having experience developing and running code locally.

Since then, I’ve developed, maintained and deployed nearly 200 cloud functions in 3 years. And, over that time frame, I’ve developed something of a process I intend to share.

Previously, I’ve explained the “big picture” of deployment.

As well as the importance of testing and ongoing challenges of package compatibility going from staging to…

--

--