As a Sommelier, This Is Exactly How I Decide Where to Eat and Drink When I Visit a New City

Put Google away

Charlie Brown
Rooted

--

My husband “following the chain of recommendations” from a restaurant owner in Rome. Image courtesy of author

When I watch friends try to find a restaurant or bar using only Google and a prayer, I cry inside.

Too many times I’ve watched this go sideways.

I get it. It’s hard to know how to find good places, especially in new cities when the only information at your disposal is Google, social media, and SEO-driven drivel.

I recently invited you all to go fantasy wine shopping with me and thousands of you turned up.

This week, we’re going out eating and drinking together using some tricks of the wine trade that I use to find the best places in any given town.

The hacks that all us hospitality pros use every time we land somewhere new.

Because Google is not your friend in this situation.

I am.

Rule no. 1 — There is no bad food in good wine places. Go to them first.

You and I have landed in a new city. We’re sat in our Airbnb and wondering where to eat and drink tonight.

This is exactly what I would do. I would start by finding a good wine bar.

--

--

Charlie Brown
Rooted
Editor for

Writer of opinions. Wine & food pro. Editor of Rooted, a boostable Medium food & drink pub. Niche-avoidant. Also at thesaucemag.substack.com