Data Science Must-Reads That Aren’t Textbooks

Books to help you understand data science concepts — without feeling like assigned reading.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

Since data science is a hybrid of computer science, statistics and business, there are many textbooks that attempt to teach the discipline by focusing on developing hard skills like statistical concepts and programming. However, if you’re like me, the academic feel of many textbooks makes it difficult to fully engage with the learning material.

Code snippets don’t always cut it.

Luckily, early on in my data science journey, I sought out and discovered reading materials that helped provide a ‘big picture’ understanding of machine learning, data analysis and trends that power our data-driven world.

These selections range from guides on overlooked but important skills like data storytelling and data journalism to gripping narratives surrounding seismic data events like Edward Snowden and Cambridge Analytica.

In no particular order, here are my recommendations for the data science student or professional who wants to gain a more wholistic understanding of the field and enjoy the journey.

Note: I’m not compensated for any of these selections. They are simply books I’ve enjoyed. I’ve provided…

--

--