Saying goodbye to wasted days.

My methods for increasing productivity when I don’t want to do anything.

Justin Fowler
3 min readJan 25, 2014

Much too often, I have a lazy day. I don’t want to do anything. As an entrepreneur, these unmotivated days can be very dangerous to your productivity; those hours of watching cat videos could have been used to further your mind, get some free marketing, clean your work space, or spend time outside. I’ve always regretted my lazy days at some point, but I’ve found that there is a chance to redeem yourself if you find that you’re in the middle of a unmotivated monday.

Location, Location, Location

Most people work at the same place every day. I know I do. Use your mobile gear to your advantage and try moving somewhere else. If you want, you can stay right in your own office or home and try a different spot. You’ve got so many options in your home; try working on your kitchen table, couch (keep the TV off), patio, an extra desk, etc. If you prefer, you can even try visiting an entirely different location for some good focus time. I’ve found that going to a Starbucks forces me to get something done, especially if I’ve already invested $5 in a Café Mocha. I always bring my Macbook Air and my headphones so I can tune everything else out. There are an increasing number of businesses offering free Wifi to customers. Don’t spend a bunch of money just because you’re using the Wifi, but don’t overstay your welcome. My general rule of thumb is that a small purchase ($5-$10) is worth about an hour in a restaurant or coffee shop.

Todo By Today

I usually have some items on my todo list. Most of them don’t have a reminder or due date set on them. For me, having a certain amount of tasks I need to get done by the end of the day motivates me. I do have to keep my goals realistic, but I’ve found that I can get a lot accomplished when I set my own deadline. I don’t want my reminders app fussing at me tomorrow for not finishing a task, that just makes me look like a slacker. Just about every productivity app I’ve used has some sort of way to set a due date on certain tasks (if not, try Wunderlist, Any.do, or the default Reminders app on your phone). Plus, once you’re done with everything, you can look back and see all the amazing things you accomplished.

Start Small

That next task probably looks daunting. Don’t be afraid, it probably isn’t as bad as you really think it is. Try dividing complex tasks into smaller pieces and starting with the small pieces. Some productivity software will even allow you to create large tasks with several subtasks. If that doesn’t work, try getting something else done that’s simple. Clean your desk. Write an article. Go run a mile. Read a chapter in that one book you bought. If you get something done, it might just motivate you to get something else done.

Everyone’s GTD preferences are different, so it’s key to find what motivates you. Having a list of things you can get accomplished when you have free time can be a great way to remind you of what can be done next, even if it doesn’t seem that important. Next time you open up your favorite game or time-wasting website, glance at your list. There’s a great book you could be reading, something you could learn, a loved one you could be writing to, or some hilarious tweets you could be constructing. Let’s get rid of lazy days once and for all.

--

--

Justin Fowler

Find me on Twitter @SomewhatJustin. Product Manager at Upswing.