I Failed

Big Time

John Anealio
2 min readJan 3, 2014

I failed.

Big time.

One year ago, I launched the 23 in ‘13 Challenge. My intention was to release 23 new songs in 2013 and invite you to create 23 works of art along with me.

Well, I failed. Miserably.

I only released 10 new pieces of music this year, and…

I’m fine with it.

Personally, professionally and artistically, this was a tough year for me. I struggled to keep creating while life threw obstacles in my way. This is a challenge for all of us creative types. How we deal with it is what defines us as artists and human beings.

If you participated in 23 in ‘13, let me know how you did. Otherwise…

How did you fail in 2013?

What did you learn from it?

I learned that as a songwriter/composer, all I really want to do now is focus on enjoying the process of creating new music and share it with the people who like what I do. Nothing else really matters.

--

--

John Anealio

Musician. Podcaster. Co-Host of The Functional Nerds Podcast. Reads Sci-Fi & Fantasy Novels. Listens to Prog-Rock & Metal. Still likes Winger. @JohnAnealio