On the sofa

Dan Pupius
1 min readSep 11, 2012

--

I’d just got back from Borneo, having come home sooner than intended. In those days airlines were much more flexible and I’d travelled overland from Pontianak to Kuching to see if I could initiate the 2nd leg of my flight a few days early. After a month of hiking in the jungle and sleeping in Dayak long houses I was exhausted and just wanted to get home. I often wonder how the trip would have been different if I’d stayed longer.

My brother had been watching BBC News and he yelled to me that a plane had crashed in New York. The mental picture this conjured was a far cry from what I saw on the screen when I came, sleepy eyed, into the living room.

We proceeded to spend the next 48-hours infront of the TV, relaying news updates via SMS to my Dad. He was travelling on business and, in the pre-smartphone era, wasn’t able to stay updated.

So, not the most exciting of stories. But still a day I’ll always remember.

--

--

Dan Pupius

Englishman in California. Father, engineer, photographer. Recovering adrenaline junky. Founder @ www.range.co. Previously: Medium, Google.