The Short Routine That Produces 8 Articles a Week Alongside My 9–5

Steal it all

Eve Arnold
Publishous

--

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

It’s 6 AM I’m hazy.

It’s dark still outside in the UK, and it’s hard to mentally adjust to work staring into the blackness but alas, I’ve been doing this for 3 years; it’s become second nature to me now.

I write a lot.

And I work 9-to-5.

Here’s how I do it:

1. It doesn’t start the night before, it never stops

My morning routine used to start the night before.

I document down all my ideas for the following morning's writing session, but things have changed since then. I’ve realized that things don’t start the night before for me.

They actually never stop.

I’m always thinking. I think on dog walks, in my evenings, if I’m renovating. I’m always thinking. I’ll chew over an idea in my head for weeks at a time.

I’ll pick ideas up and drop them.

I go to sleep thinking.

And when I’m hit with a cool idea, I’ll write it down. It’s a simple system. Pull up Apple notes and write the headline. Nothing more. Then I get on with my day.

--

--