It’s Not Time Yet: This Is Why You’re Not Succeeding Right Now

It’s not always about what you have planned before, but what’s best for you to happen right now for the greater you in the future.

Kevin Nokia
4 min readApr 21, 2024
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

You are not succeeding right now because it’s not time yet.

I realize this when I have tried to work hard on eliminating all of my bad habits and still relapse over and over again. I decided to stop playing games, but suddenly those cravings came like hell, and I couldn’t resist them. The same thing happens with cornography too, and I can’t resist stopping it and end up relapsing over and over again.

This is where I then ask myself, Why can’t I stop all of my bad habits?

I have planned before.

I have tried different methods, but I still end up relapsing over and over again.

So, what’s wrong with me?

I then blamed myself and others.

I avoid going out with my friends sometimes (not all the time) to avoid playing games because when I’m with them, it’s pretty hard to reject them.

Other than that, I struggle with building my morning routine and my night routine too. I struggle to consistently wake up every morning before 5 a.m. I end up sleeping again or avoiding waking up at that time.

Even so, I still keep getting back up.

  • If I fail on day 2, I get back up on day 3.
  • If I fail on day 6, I get back up on day 7.
  • If I fail today, I will get back up tomorrow.

This is where I actually amaze myself. I might not be perfect at eliminating all of my bad habits and building my routines, but I keep on getting back up even though I have failed many times.

I start from day 0 again, but I don’t realize that it’s actually not day 0.

This is what blows my mind about self-improvement.

Once you start on self-improvement, what you don’t realize is that you have actually started the first day of improving yourself.

You might say that you started to stop playing video games 10 days after today, but what you are doing is already starting to improve yourself that day. You might fail and relapse on cornography, starting over again from 0, but you didn’t realize that relapsing is actually part of progressing, and you are progressing.

What you have failed at before, over and over again, actually accumulates for your success in the future.

It doesn’t matter how many times you relapse or how many times you smoke this year; you are actually progressing toward becoming better in the future (if you still decide to stop).

That’s why I keep on failing and relapsing over and over again, because I need those relapses. I need those failures to make me stronger so I can keep getting back up and never give up.

I wasn’t actually building habits; I was actually practicing to build habits.

The key is consistency, and consistency doesn’t always look like what you are seeing—like not relapsing for 30 days perfectly. Consistency could be in how you get back over and over again after failing.

So, whenever you fail right now, remember to get back up and never give up.

  • Make better goals.
  • Make better habits.
  • Make a better plan.
  • Make a better environment.
  • Make better self-affirmations.

This is how you are actually progressing. We are seeking progress, not perfection. You need to fail first to know what’s wrong and what’s right with your progress.

This is why it’s not time yet when you are forcing yourself to succeed.

The price of success is not actually what you thought you had to do.

The price of success is actually what you need to do, but you don’t want to do it.

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting