Hitchhiker’s guide to software companies

What should you look at when deciding to work for a software company?

Srinivas Iyengar
2 min readSep 10, 2013

I often get asked by lot of people who are clueless how to zero in on a particular software company?

I usually look at the following parameters but in no particular order.

Salary

What is the annual compensation? Does it involve stocks? What other perks do I get? Even though, we often think money is not that important, trust me, it is! The money is what pays your bills, rent, food and travel.

Good companies pay enough but great companies pay well. They do offer good perks (free catered lunch/ dinner, stocked up pantry, hair cuts and massages).

Job Role

What is the role I am being offered? Is it a hustler, hacker, software developer, QA, Product Manager, Program Manager etc.

What is expected out of me? Can I perform at that level? Who are my peers? Are they capable themselves?

However, there are cases where some startups don’t define job roles but try to figure out by asking the right questions, what their expectations are.

Interview Difficulty

What is their interview process like? Is it interesting? Is it mundane, do I learn something out of each interview?

There is a high co-relation between a good company and a great interview process. The interviews often drive you out of your comfort zone and want you to think on your feet and discuss your solutions (instead of just answering).

I often see great companies try to innovate here as well. They ensure that the entire interview experience is smooth and is a good representation of the company culture.

Career growth

Most obvious one. Am I going to be bored with what I am doing in next 6 months or a year? Can I work on something challenging all the time? Can I expect great peers who push the boundary time and again?

Stagnation is bound to happen over a long period of time. Does the company have avenues that you allow you to explore and experiment?

Work Culture

How is the work culture? Are people open minded? With the recent events around racism & sexism, I definitely want to work for a company which has an open minded and welcoming culture.

Do I sense lot of office politics? Is the organization flat, do I see lot of mid-level micro managers?

Does the team have regular outings/ lunches/ brown bags/ external guest speakers?

G33k bragging rights

If I am at a party or a social event and I tell them I work for some company, do they feel jealous or excited?

Do I talk a lot about work to your friends/ family than usual?

Especially, for the tech industry, this is important. I’d rather not work for “unsexy” companies because the general consensus is often not too wrong.

Do let me know if you think I missed out on something that you use as a signal.

--

--

Srinivas Iyengar

Software Developer by day, data miner when away but a geek all day!