How to Use ChatGPT to Learn a Language (And Practice It)

Improve your vocabulary, writing, and reading skills, and practice a language with ChatGPT.

Diana Dovgopol
Artificial Corner

--

Image created with Midjourney

I’m an immigrant who two years ago packed her life into one suitcase and bought a one-way ticket. During the past two years, I’ve lived in two different countries and have taken the time to learn the local languages.

I have to admit that I didn’t know English at all three years ago. However, three months ago, I successfully graduated from my Master’s program and can now communicate effectively with native English speakers.

It took me one year of study and practice to go from beginner to B2 level. That wasn’t easy, but I think things could’ve been easier if ChatGPT existed back then. ChatGPT can be an effective tool for language learners who are studying on their own.

Here’s how I’m using ChatGPT to learn and practice a new language.

1. Use ChatGPT as a language partner: Simulate a real conversation

ChatGPT can become your language buddy and chat with you whenever you need some practice.

To make ChatGPT engage with you in a conversation, use the prompt below.

Act as a language…

--

--