Why Self-Reliance Is Not The Solution For Emotional Health

A balance of self, God, and others all matter.

Kristen v.H. Middleton
Thrive Global

--

Disclaimer: I am not a therapist or doctor. I write purely from the perspective of my own mental health experiences, therapy, relationships, healing, recovery, teaching and research, and want to comment on what I see as a recurring theme in the media around the promotion of emotional self-reliance above all other forms of healing — a concept that I think can be dangerous when it becomes the primary mechanism for which we rely on growth and well-being.

(credit: Pixabay)

For me, emotional health is about cultivating a balance among self-reliance, relying on God or your higher power, and relying on other people. Self-reliance by itself can lead to isolation, denial, and avoidance.

An unshakeable foundation of inner strength for me, is first and foremost based on my relationship with Jesus Christ, who embodies the concept of unconditional love. The role of my higher power allows me to step outside of myself, to be comforted by Him in my pain, to not feel alone, and to treat myself with gentleness and loving-kindness.

As many of us learn in successful therapy and Recovery programs, calling on a higher power to support us through life, as well as having a sponsor, accountability partner, therapist, or support group…

--

--

Kristen v.H. Middleton
Thrive Global

Poet and Clinical Psychologist in training (PsyD). A Top Poetry Writer on Medium.