Emerging Leader Profile: Evelina Lavrova, Global Marketing and PR, Waves Platform

Diamond-Michael Scott
3 min readJul 14, 2018

One of the benefits of being involved in the global cryptocurrency community are the vast opportunities to connect with like-minded people across the world. It is with this that I am excited to interview Evelina Lavrova who is involved with Global Marketing and PR with Waves Platform.

Waves is a platform that allows users to store, trade, manage and issue their digital assets, easily and securely. Largely attributed to Evelina’s efforts, many will attest that the promotional marketing strategy of this rapidly growing company is second to none in the industry.

Evidence of her growing reputation, she was listed by Core Magazine as among the Top 10 women in Crypto in 2017.

Here are a few thoughts from our Q&A discussion with Evelina

Can you share a little about you and your professional background?

Sure. I was born is Armavir, a small town in the south of Russia, near Sochi where the 2014 winter Olympics were held. Then my family moved to Tula in the 1990s. After my university graduation I moved to Moscow in 2007 and began my career in marketing

At that point I had already spent around 3 years in business development. A turning point for me was in 2012, when I joined a new global startup, Gett (a mobile app for ordering taxis). It was unbelievable experience.

What was your path to Waves?

Later, when I worked at Pay-Me (like a Russian version of Square, providing mobile point-of-sale services), founder Vladimir Kanin explained blockchain technology to me. Then I found a social media post by Sasha Ivanov about a vacancy for Waves. It was unexpected, and I checked Waves’ website and really liked the idea. When I joined the team I didn’t expect crypto to take off like it did, but it’s been amazing to work in such a fast-growing industry.

And your current role with Waves?

When I first joined Waves in 2016 we had a very small team, so I had many different responsibilities. I managed various things in the office, helped to search for new developers, worked with media and event organisers and discussed our collaboration with Microsoft. But now I’m focusing on organising company activities at events like conferences, meetups, hackathons, etc.

What are you particularly passionate about in the blockchain /cryptocurrency space?

The fact that it can radically change our lives in so many different ways. Blockchain technology will power Internet 3.0 and 4.0. It’s going to be part of the next generation of all internet applications.

Describe your experience working at Waves. And why do you think their work is groundbreaking?

I helped Waves’ with their post-ICO marketing. I started by promoting the company in Russia and then globally, organising interviews for Alexander Ivanov and arranging presentations at key conferences. Russia has a very strong tech community, which is why we have also created such an active community of blockchain developers.

I think Waves will be successful because it’s not one or more distinct products. Rather, everything is combined in an overall ecosystem. I’m very thankful that Waves has given me such amazing opportunities to grow together with the company and platform.

What are your outside interests? And what do most people not know about you?

I love travelling and meeting interesting new people. I’m lucky because I can combine my business trips with holidays. My dream is to travel all around the world. I’m also a tennis, golf, skiing, and yacht race enthusiast.

People often underestimate or doubt me, assuming that I don’t have enough knowledge, skills or work experience, but if they give me a chance they change their opinion after I prove to them what I can do and they see my achievements for themselves!

Finally what is your greatest vision and hope for Waves?

To become a global company and one of the leaders of the blockchain industry. I think it will helps to establish and preserve Russia’s image as a motherland of tech giants like Telegram and Kaspersky.

--

--

Diamond-Michael Scott

Independent Journalist — Blockchain | Digital Cities | The New Digital Economy “Advancing Freedom Through Technology”