As A Creator, Consistency Could be Your Underrated Superpower

Don’t do what 90% of my writer friends from 2014 have done.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readSep 13, 2022

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Do you know why I talk so frequently about consistency and put so much effort into being consistent at showing up online?

I had a beautiful chance to achieve what I currently have in 2014.

I started writing every day on Quora in my final year of undergrad. There was a time when I used to get 100 new followers each day, and every answer of mine inevitably crossed 100 upvotes. I was named a Top Writer among a handful of people from India when I was 22 years old.

But that was also the time I’d just graduated college and was looking for a job. I didn’t believe in myself enough that I’d turn my writing on Quora into a career. If I tried hard enough, I could have done it.

But I didn’t have the bandwidth to do it at that moment, and I let my Quora momentum slip away.

From 35+ answers a month, I went to writing 1 answer a week.

This impacted my reach severely.

For someone who’s used to thousands of views in an instant, you can imagine how demotivating it would be to see 40 views on her answers after 24 hours of publishing.

I lost interest in Quora

--

--