3 Dark Truths of Being A Digital Creator No One Talks About

The sooner you know about them, the better prepared you’ll be.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 19, 2022

--

Image from Anangsha’s Instagram

I’ve worked in a government job, and I’ve been self-employed.

I’ve been writing online for seven years before I could make a full-time career out of it.

As someone who’s ridden the incredible highs of the self-employed lifestyle and has surfed through the choppy waters of self-doubt, online hatred, and constantly second-guessing yourself, I can safely say that I’ve seen it all.

In this post, I’ve put together the three dark truths of being a digital creator that no one talks about.

The goal is to familiarize you with the pitfalls of following your passion. It’s not to discourage you but to make you aware of what lies ahead if you take this leap of faith.

Read on for some honest stories and how you can tackle the same.

1. Passion Doesn’t Last

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” — Confucius.

Age-old wisdom, but I disagree.

Why?

Because *love* is unreliable.

  • You don’t wake up every day loving your job.

--

--