Everything Wrong with Your Cover Image, and How to Fix It (According to a Visual Designer)

A complete guide to master your blog’s open rate

Shreya Badonia 🧨
The Startup
Published in
6 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

Image from freepik

Working with visuals in my full-time job as a designer also revealed how visuals impact all kinds of content we see online.

Being a writer alongside a designer makes you two sets of eyes to question the visual appeal of blogs and different contents.

Having the right blog image can be more impactful than we give it credit. People notice the first thing in a blog is the cover image, then the headline and the tagline.

These images decide whether people read your blog or not.

Your blog cover image can make your article go viral or just sit with millions of blog posts nobody clicks other than your mom.

When I started writing, my only focus was writing a decent piece. Working on my headlines and cover images never crossed my mind. However, 8 years of writing online taught me the importance of visuals for my blog posts.

Let’s learn how to ace the visual appeal of your blog.

Using Images Which Are Overly Used

When I started writing on Medium in 2020, I’d only see blogs with a cover image of a…

--

--

Shreya Badonia 🧨
The Startup

Multi-passionate creator | visual thinker living an island life 🏝️ Join my weekly newsletter 📣 https://shreyasls.substack.com/