Happy Hack #7: Ask for Forgiveness

It can be a scary thing to do.

Debbie Walker
ForwardMotion

--

Forgive us the wrongs we have done…(Matthew 6:12, GNT)

Forgiveness is a prerequisite to happiness. If I do not ask for forgiveness, I will not be happy.

You see, unforgiveness is a bitter poison that flows through my veins to break my heart. It seeps in the muscle like liquid nitrogen to freeze and shatter at a touch.

But one way to repair the broken places is to ask others to forgive me.

Ask for forgiveness.

The first step on this path is to bare your soul and ask for forgiveness. This is a scary thing to do.

You can always pray silently and talk to God about things you’ve done. The mistakes made, failures, and downright bad choices.

You’ve heard the phrase, confession is good for the soul? I believe that statement is true. Asking out loud also frees you from the grip of unforgiveness.

However, the hard part is asking others to forgive you. One of the easiest ways is to make a list of people you have harmed; in word and deed.

The List

AA calls it a fearless moral inventory. I made three columns titled Alive, Passed On, and Other. List those people according to…

--

--

Debbie Walker
ForwardMotion

Debbie Walker is the creator of Middle-Pause, STOMP!, & published a 3-book anthology. Top Writer Food & Diversity. Follow her at https://linktr.ee/Debbie_Walker