Finding yourself

The meaning of life. From the muse of the stars

Michal Kopecký
2 min readMar 12, 2015

August 7–8, 2013

I have spent a considerable amount of time looking out the window, be it at home, school or work. Feeling trapped, waiting for something to happen, looking for something more. Tonight I may have just found it…

After dinner, I found my parents in the garden, enjoying the comfortably warm evening temperatures during what appear to be some of the hottest days ever in our region. I joined them. We stared at the clear sky as the sun set and the stars became clearer and clearer every passing second. Peaceful. Soothing. Our eyes adjusted to the changing lighting conditions, only to be interrupted by a bat duo, putting on an air show. Crickets chirped in surround sound, dogs barked off in a distant stereo, sprinklers came on, faint sound of neighbors could be heard from houses around us.

My parents went inside, while I stayed. Mesmerized. My mind turned off the aspect of time, concentrating on space. The large Space. Enormous. How big are we? What do we mean? I started thinking. We’re not even the smallest particle of an atom if our Earth was the Universe. But we are important. We all are. Just as every single star creates the total picture, so do we. I kept looking up. All stress and all the problems of the world faded away. How could I be angry? How could anyone?

I brought out my laptop, took the lounger to the middle of the grassy area of our garden and started writing. I found a muse, somewhere far off in Space. Long have I wanted to write something, but never found the time, courage, inspiration, or, in fact, any other excuse you can come up with. My notebook screen, as the only source of light for creatures not aiming for the stars, soon became the playground for various night insects. I was relaxed like I haven’t been in a long time, now with only sounds of crickets and an occasional sight of an unidentifiable flying object running across the infinite, starry sky, so I did nothing about the often annoying visitors.

There’s something more. There always is. Whether it’s a photograph, view out of a window you see every day, or the night sky. So the next time you get the chance, don’t turn your back to Space, try to take a long hard look. Savor it. You just might see something more…

--

--