Plan Your Go-to-Market Strategy

Because Shipping Code Isn’t Enough

Mike Madison
Path to Product

--

Photo by Manasvita S on Unsplash

“When will the product be able to {insert feature}?”

“…We launched that six months ago.”

Whether it’s with Sales, Support, Customer Success, the CEO, or a customer, I can’t count the number of times I’ve had that conversation. Or this one:

“I’m sure it’s a great feature, but nobody knows how to use it.”

There are few things more frustrating than spending weeks and months of effort to create something or to solve a problem, only to learn that few people used it, either because:

  • They never heard of it
  • They were never trained on it
  • They didn’t have the tools to adopt it
  • They didn’t know how to learn more about it

Sometimes, it’s a sign that the person I’m speaking with didn’t read an email, or they missed the training session, or they didn’t look in the knowledgebase. Most of the time, it means that I’ve failed to market my product internally as well as to customers.

Missing the Point

The first product I managed had a messy go-to-market launch. Functionally, it was a major achievement, but we were unprepared to support it.

--

--

Mike Madison
Path to Product

Product manager. Tech geek. Passionate about helping Product teams build great products. Writes about Product Management, Leadership, Remote Work, and Culture.