Some Things Just Hold Up

Mike Vardy
About Time

--

Whenever my wife goes away on business, my daughter and I usually watch a few movies after my son goes to bed. She’s at an age now where I feel she’s mature enough to watch certain films and understand the nuance and humour in them. We have a similar sense of humour – we love awkward and silly stuff just as much as we love smart and clever stuff wrapped in an awkward and silly wrapper.

On one of these occasions, we watched two Will Ferrell movies. One held up well, which is why it’s been described as a cult classic. The other didn’t, and the back half of the film actually dragged more than I remembered.

Then we watched Borat.

All these years after its release, it still holds up. It’s smart and awkward. It’s silly and clever. It’s disturbing and deliriously funny. She was ready to see it for the first time, and I was ready to see it again.

Time doesn’t always treat things well. Some things don’t stand the test of time, but some things just hold up. Borat is definitely in the latter category.

The thing is… I’m not sure that’s necessarily a good thing.

Learn how to make EVERY moment matter.

Grab my FREE daily planning tool, The Daily Driver.

Mike Vardy is a writer, productivity strategist, and the creator of TimeCrafting. He is the author of the upcoming book TimeCrafting: A Better Way to Get The Right Things Done. Mike is also renowned speaker and has taught productivity on CreativeLive, Skillshare, and LinkedIn Learning where his courses are among the most popular in the business category.

--

--

Mike Vardy
About Time

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now