The Lean Startup Method Is Outdated —Try This Instead

Stop building your MVP and start growing your MVA.

Lisa Mariá Centeno
The Startup

--

Photo by ergonofis on Unsplash

Last week I had the honor to speak at Investorweek 2021, a global investor and startup event.

Besides pitching once at a startup event, I have little to no experience with investors. If so, my work is based on avoiding investors as much as possible.

So what do I tell a global bunch of tech investors waiting for the next big unicorn?

After breaking my head about it and feeling the imposter syndrome kicking in, the only reasonable thing for me was to share what I am passionate about.

So I shared what I want every startup founder to know and what I think investors should look at in their potential investment.

It’s building your MVA before building your MVP.

Eric Ries’ Lean Startup Method is a genius approach to building a business: Built, Measure, Learn, Repeat.

It is simple, affordable, and highly effective.

But also highly ready for an update.

The lean startup method requires you to have a hypothesis about your business idea. An assumption of how people react, how they behave, or what the future will bring.

--

--

Lisa Mariá Centeno
The Startup

On a Mission to make Business More Mindful | Helping Entrepreneurs to Stay Sane in the Process | Top Apple Podcast: Business Basics