The art of not wasting time (pt. 2)

Ivan Perilli
2 min readNov 4, 2018

Remember? I was gently telling you off for wasting the power of your free time, even if your intentions were good and your efforts were there, visible on an imaginary table.

In my previous article, the essence was that the granularity of our (free) time management is often a disaster. Not the time management itself, but its related microplanning (cool name bro!)

the result of badly micro planned activities

So, as I said before “the hour must produce something tangible”.

Our lovely micro planned hour. What a richness. Right now I am typing this article, mug of coffee on my left, a genetically modified to-do list on my right. An hourglass next to the coffee and my grumpy laptop open. It’s 6:50AM.

I assume that 6:50AM is not shocking to you. This morning I effectively started my daily activities at 5:45. Nothing strange, this is the way to do it. Plenty of literature support that (some of them just badly written blog article like this, or some other researches from click-baiting Universities).

Coffee? Coffee is needed, coffee is fuel for our engines or the spark plug at least.

The hourglass? The hourglass is a dear imaginary friend of mine reminding me that, if I am working on my project, it should be a real whole hour. Yes, this hourglass I have is quite big and counts 60 minutes. I love it.

What’s this whole hour I am talking about? The hour we usually waste is not well micro planned. A few months ago I formally developed a method to help myself to achieve my long-term goals, via long term projects that, at that time, were systematically overtaken by quick-joy wins. Because I’m sure we all agree that a fast week-long project will obtain our time and get our focus. Cheap dope!

Sadly, we will be remembered for one or two important things done in life. Got the picture? One or two big magnificent projects.

yeah… you got the picture.

But time to go back to work now. Oh, this is the method I am talking about.

… one last thing…
If you liked what you just read, click the👏 (you can click more than once!) so other people can enjoy it.

read my previous article on the subject here

--

--

Ivan Perilli

25% author, 25% composer, 20% musician, 10% IT manager, 20% imagination.