True Sisters: Larnaca, Cyprus and Tarpon Springs, Florida

Larnaca, Cyprus © iStock.com/ Peeter Viisimaa

I don’t remember the first time I heard about the concept of sister cities, but I remember seeing an article in a local newspaper that said my city, Larnaca, became a sister city with the city of Tarpon Springs in Florida. Being 19 at the time and never having travelled outside of Cyprus before, I was intrigued by how such a “sisterhood” could exist and what it could possibly entail.

I have always loved my city. Its vibrant colors, its cultural intensity, the salt lake, and the city’s hospitable people. I love the palm trees, the way all roads lead to the beach and how, even in the winter, my city makes it feel like summer. My great love for my city led me on a quest to find out more about my city’s sister city. What could make another city more than 6,000 miles away similar to the city I call home?

Tarpon Spring sunset © iStock.com/Arpad Benedek

A simple internet search gave me the answer. After seeing pictures of Tarpon Springs for the first time, I realized instantly why the two cities were chosen to participate in such a sisterhood. The beach, boats, palm trees, and the people’s inclination to the sea resonated with me. It didn’t take me long to come to terms with the idea that a city so far away carried something of my own kind.

Following the sisterhood closely for the past seven years, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that others felt the same way. A meaningful relationship has been established between the two cities and their citizens. The cities have formed a cultural connection through the exchange of cultural activities and various events. The citizens of Tarpon Springs can enjoy showcases of costumes, artifacts, and many other beautiful gifts given by the city of Larnaca at the Tarpon Springs Heritage Museum and City Hall. Likewise, the people of Larnaca can be informed about Tarpon Springs at the offices of Larnaca’s municipality.

Furthermore, the cities are also interconnected in terms of language. A partnership with the American Foundation for Greek Language and Culture brought forth the Hellenic Studies Program at St. Petersburg College in Tarpon Springs, an educational exchange between the students of Tarpon Springs Elementary School and the Plato Academy of Tarpon Springs. Pen pal exchanges now take place between primary schools in the two cities.

Sponge diving boat © iStock.com/PeterEtchells

In terms of customs, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the tradition of sponge diving, something my dad and little sister do on the weekends, is practiced extensively by the Greek community in the Tarpon Springs area.

Now at the age 26, after having visited many cities around the world, I am more confident than ever that Tarpon Springs is the city that resembles Larnaca the most. I believe that the cities mirror each other in ways very few cities can. Tarpon Springs will be one of my next destinations and I am sure that it will be all I expect it to be, a home away from home.

Beach on point in Tarpon Springs near Clearwater, Florida © iStock.com/merrilyanne

Written by Maria Michael, Resident of Larnaca, currently on a road trip in the United States.

This story is part of the #SisterCitySunday series on Medium. Each Sunday from October 2, 2016 to May 7, 2017, new stories from the 28 European Union Member States will be published. Stories will also be shared on social media using #SisterCitySunday.

To join the conversation on social media, make sure to use #SisterCitySunday and tag @EUintheUS and @SisterCitiesInt on Twitter and Instagram, andEUintheUS and SisterCitiesInternational on Facebook. Let us know about your experiences in twinned cities and share your partnership stories with us!

--

--