Why Do People Pressure Others To Get Married?

a shortform and reflection

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Shamin on Unsplash

Why do people pressure others to get married? I’ve nothing against marriage, but being nudged and nagged all day to “get married already” irks me quite a lot.

For me, a marriage is a commitment to a partner that’s not only an emotional attachment and promise about a relationship but also one that has legal and financial complications.

This person becomes the closest next-of-kin who has the weight of choosing whether to “pull the plug”, if something happens to you. You not only plan your relationship together, but have to decide how to balance your financial goals for the future.

I’m sure when you finally make that decision, it’s great; and that there will always be ups and downs to marriage. But that decision falls down to my decision in conjunction to my partner, not anyone else.

And that is a boundary I’m sticking to.

Yes, I responded to my own shortform prompt of the week. Hop on, I want to hear about your reactions to the concept of marriage, your stories of marriage, etc!

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.